An Introduction to our Energy Centers

Last Updated on Sunday, 04 August 2013 21:44

Our energy centers are also called Chakra’s, a Sanskrit word meaning ‘wheel’. The chakra system is a blueprint for our physical and mental development and presents a doorway into the other dimensions of our spiritual evolution. The science of the chakra’s was probably taught orally at the same time as the discipline of yoga over 2,700 years ago, referred to in a collection of Hindu scriptures called the Upanishads.

Main Chakra Centers

Image credit: Courtesy of

What are Chakras?

A chakra is a concentration of energy in the shape of a wheel, disc or vortex. The chakra’s do not exist physically, but express themselves as communication centers that connect our physical world with our subtler bodies, and the rest of the universe.

Each chakra influences specific parts of our anatomy and governs a particular area of human expression, for example the third chakra, Manipura influences the solar plexus, and governs the area of self-esteem and persona image. Three main approaches to chakra science evolved over time, they are the Hindu, Tibetan and Tantra systems.

In the West we mostly hear about the seven main chakra’s that are positioned along the central nervous system from just below the coccyx to the crown of the head, however less central chakra’s may manifest as vortices anywhere in our energetic body.

How do Chakras work?

Chakra’s themselves may be at different stages of activation. For example the Heart or Anahata chakra might be obscured after we experience an emotional shock or disappointment. When the Heart chakra is balanced we can connect again with feelings of love, peace and creative expansion.

Nei Gong 4 Life utilises the connective power of nei gong to activate the chakra system and energy body.

When our physical circulation is free flowing, it’s able to keep the body well-nourished and communicating; in the same way chakras when balanced, circulate energy to keep our material and subtler bodies in communication and healthy. We can then express ourselves fully and grow into our potential.

Below is a brief introduction to the areas governed by the seven main chakras starting from the base of the spine vertically to the crown of the head.

Muladhara or Root Chakra

Muladhara or Root Chakra

The Muladhara is positioned just below the coccyx and is associated with passion, grounding, physical balance and survival. It is the largest chakra and fundamental to our sense of physical and emotional well-being.

+ Colour: red
+ Element: earth
+ Animal: elephant
+ Physical influence: legs, spine, and bones.
+ Phase of evolution: unconscious
+ Area of expression: physical survival

Feelings of security and nourishment are formed here. A lack of physical balance and feelings of lack in general are addressed by balancing the Muladhara chakra.

Svadhisthana Chakra

Svadhisthana or Sacral Chakra

Positioned between the coccyx and sacrum Svadhisthana is the seat of the subconscious, our willpower and desires. The Svadhisthana chakra influences our sense of placement and belonging in the world.

+ Colour: orange
+ Element: water
+ Animal: crocodile
+ Physical influence: lower abdomen, reproductive organs .
+ Phase of evolution: subconscious
+ Area of expression: will, desire

Balancing the Svadhisthana helps us focus our will, build energy and transform our life patterns and relationships.

Manipura or Solar Plexus Chakra

Manipura or Solar Plexus Chakra

The Manipura chakra is positioned on the spine in line with the navel and radiates into the solar plexus. It is the seat of our conscious self, from where we express our sense of social identity or persona.

+ Colour: yellow/orange,
+ Element: fire
+ Animal: ram
+ Physical influence: digestive system and nerves
+ Phase of evolution: consciousness
+ Area of expression: social identity

Digestive imbalances and ‘butterflies in the stomach’ are a sign the Manipura chakra needs balancing. When the Manipura is balanced feelings of unworthiness are transformed into self-confidence and a sense of self-esteem.

Anahata Or Heart Chakra

Anahata or Heart Chakra

The Anahata chakra radiates from the spine into the middle of the chest in line with the heart. Anahata is the seat of love, clarity, and our creative sensibilities.

+ Colour: sky blue, green, pink
+ Element: moving air
+ Animal: antelope
+ Physical influence: heart and circulatory system.
+ Phase of evolution: personal connection
+ Area of expression: love, expansion

Balancing the Heart chakra connects us to compassion, peace and our creative flow. A clear and strong Anahata  helps us clarify our desires and see them fulfilled.

Vishuddhi or Throat Chakra

Vishuddhi or Throat Chakra

The Vishuddhi chakra is positioned near the larynx and is the seat of our communication skills and creative expression.

+ Colour: indigo blue
+ Element: space
+ Animal: white elephant
+ Physical influence: respiratory system, voice
+ Phase of evolution: human interaction
+ Area of expression: communication

Balancing the Vishuddhi chakra helps us to influence our environment through our communication and creative skills, to literally ‘find our voice’.

Agya Chakra or Third Eye

Agya Chakra or Third Eye

Called the psychic centre and third eye, the Agya chakra originates at the base of the brain and radiates through the forehead. It is the centre of inspiration, guidance and direction.

+ Colour: white / violet
+ Element: knowledge
+ Physical influence: pituary gland, CNS, the five senses
+ Phase of evolution: intellect
+ Area of expression: command

Balancing the Agya chakra helps develops wisdom and discrimination. We receive clear direction and connect with our spiritual and psychic gifts.

Sahasrara or Crown Chakra

Sahasrara or Crown Chakra

The Sahasrara chakra is positioned on the crown of the head, where you find an infant’s soft spot. The crown chakra is a doorway leading to a merging with the divine. Many imaginative or very inspired people can easily overstimulate this chakra and need the support of the lower energy centres to relax.

+ Colour: clear diamond
+ Element: joining with the divine, bliss
+ Physical influence: pineal gland, the brain
+ Phase of evolution: enlightenment,
+ Area of expression: union of the subjective and objective

When the Sahasrara is balanced, universal spiritual energy and new creative concepts are channeled into the physical world.